How Feliks Zemdegs Broke the Rubik’s Cube World Record(4.59 seconds) and Tutorial on how to solve.

Feliks Zemdegs, is the world’s fastest speed solver. He holds many world records and recently broke the 3×3 world record and solved a Rubik’s Cube in 4.59 seconds! This post will tell you how he did it.

First of all, lets start with how Feliks solves the cube. Feliks uses a method called CFOP. CFOP is an advanced method that solves first, a cross on the bottom layer, then solves the first 2 layer (f2l), then it orients the last layer (OLL), and finally moves around the pieces of the last layer permutimg it (PLL). This method is used by top speed solvers and has broken many records.

But what makes Feliks Zemdegs so different? As a cuber myself, I ask this a lot. First, Feliks can do at maximum, 12 turns per SECOND. It’s crazy. He is also very proficient with very little pasues. And finally he practices. He has been cubing for ten years now and really has an aptitude for it. He has broke countless records and is an inspiration for me, and many cubers.

Feliks Zemdegs at a competition in 2013.
Attribution: Lembasts at English Wikipedia

 

Why did I make this post? I made this post because I love the cube. My personal record is 28 seconds and I use the same method as Feliks called CFOP. I am going to a competition in May and will be making a post about it! My personal goals are to practice and learn new algorithms to the point that I will be sub 10 seconds and go to many competitions.

Fun Facts!

The largest cube is a 33×33!

There is a World Cube Association (WCA) which hosts competitions (I am going to one!)

The fastest time a 3×3 was ever solved (Unofficial) was 3.85 seconds but it doesn’t count because it wasn’t in a competition.

There are 43,252,003,274,489,856,000 possible combinations for a 3×3!

The Rubik’s Cube is 40 years old.

 

How to Get Started With Solving

Now, I’m not going to put a full tutorial in here. That would be more of something for a video. But, If you are interested, I can direct you on how to get started. Here are some steps.

1. Get a Rubik’s Cube, if you just want to know how to solve it, get a Rubik’s  brand. It is the original but it is not the best but that doesn’t matter for just learning. (If you ever want to speed solve, don’t get a Rubik’s brand.)

2. Find a good tutorial for the beginner’s method (On Youtube). I recommend Noah Richardson’s beginner tutorial.

3. Deside whether you want to get faster.

4. If so practice.

5. If you ever want to get really into it, learn CFOP (the advanced method), this is what I did after about a month.

 

Thanks for reading the blog! I hope you enjoyed it! Comment down below if you have ever solved the cube or if you are into speed solving. Also, if you want more info on the subject, ask your questions in the comments!

-Happy Solving!

 

3 thoughts on “How Feliks Zemdegs Broke the Rubik’s Cube World Record(4.59 seconds) and Tutorial on how to solve.

  1. Ben,

    I have to admit that I fall into the category of never have solved a Rubik’s cube in my life, so speed solving is out of my realm of imagining being able to do. But I do find watching people speed solve them mesmerizing. Have you ever watched people solving them blindfolded? Impressive. Your post makes me want to try and solve one again though! What is it about “Rubik’s brand” cubes that you don’t recommend? I would have thought the original was best?

    Ms. Mack

  2. Dear Ms. Mack,

    Thank you for commenting! I have not seen a blindfolded solve in person but I have seen blind, and multi blind solves on Youtube. But, I probably will witness some at my competition! To answer your question, Rubik’s brands in general are pretty low quality, don’t turn well and lock up.(Lock up means gets stuck) There are better cubes that are called speed cubes and there are many speed cube companies. But, rubik’s brands are completely fine for beginners.

    From,
    Ben

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *